VivaRoxyMusic.com Forum
A Forum for all Roxy Music fans

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:22 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Manifesto Era-An Appreciation
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2023 7:12 pm 

When Manifesto was released, I was a love-sick college student and my Prog Rock tastes were being upended by the Punk and New Wave scenes. Manifesto was on my turntable every day for months. I had a clear bias toward the East Side, and despite the fact this I lean toward the first five albums over the latter two, the East Side of Manifesto remains one of my favorite album sides. I don't care so much for the West Side. Ain't That So is passable, and Spin Me Round is a favorite, but the other three songs I could never hear again and not miss them.
The first time I saw Roxy in concert was the Manifesto tour at the Palladium in New York. A college friend had scored third row seats and I was transfixed; The long intro to Manifesto, Bryan strutting out in his red leather suit and white bucks, (those shoes prompted a purchase soon after that I wore for nearly thirty years!), TGPT's stellar drumming throughout, especially through Stronger Through the Years, Phil's massive guitar rig, Andy in a Mao suit and Bryan pointedly looking his way while singing the line in Do the Strand, "Eskimos and Chinese" The Spring of 1979 was my Roxy Music awakening and they have been my favorite band since.

I recently hauled out one of the several CDs of that Spring 1979 tour available with tracks from Oakland and Denver. I hadn't listened in years and was struck by a few things: